Monday, May 10, 2010

...And Here is the Proof

On May 18th, Monet MGM is presenting a double quintet program at 92nd Street Y featuring five internationally recognized classical musicians, all under the age of thirty.

Monet MGM is a young concert management company based in New York City. Unique in market position, the company is comprised of youthful and well-educated music industry professionals with a passion for demystifying classical music for new and developing audiences.

Though this is an endeavor regularly attempted by young classical music enthusiasts, Monet MGM has had immediate results. At our first independently produced show in Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center on April 19th, 2010, there were over 600 people in attendance. Of those 600, over half the crowd was new to Lincoln Center and classical music altogether. While most knowledgeable music lovers are well versed in their favorite works by Bach, Brahms and Schumann, our crowd was clapping in between movements. Although this could be considered annoying or even disrespectful to the traditional classical audience, Monet MGM was ecstatic to lead this new audience in their exploration of our favorites.

The May 18th programming is sure to draw a crowd just as diverse as our previous concert at Lincoln Center. Presenting two of the most famous quintets, one by Dvorak and the other, Brahms, Monet MGM will continue to enlighten their developing audience with the basics before breaking into more extreme and adventurous programming in future concerts.


  1. Getting back into classical music after more then 10 years. I'm really excited for your concert on Tuesday!

  2. I was there at A.T. Hall. Thanks 2 u for the pair of comp tickets. Look forward 2 the quintet concerts at the Y. It'll be nice 2 know the program b4hand so as to try coming with the score.

  3. As requested, tonight's program is as follows:
    Antonín Dvořák
    Piano Quintet No. 2 in A major, Opus 81
    I. Allegro ma non tanto
    II. Dumka: Andante con moto-Un pochettino piu mosso
    III. Scherzo (Furiant): Molto vivace-Trio: Poco tranquillo
    IV. Finale: Allegro

    Johannes Brahms
    Piano Quintet in f minor, Opus 34
    I. Allegro non troppo
    II. Andante, un poco Adagio
    III. Scherzo: Allegro
    IV. Finale: Poco sostenuto